May 5, 2015
Royal Ballet: La Fille Mal Gardee
February 17, 2015
Royal Ballet: The Winter's Tale
Special Showings
Kids Series
Carmike Classic Cinema
Or Select Another Category:
Jewels: Bolshoi
Rating:  NR
Runtime:  159 Minutes
Starting Date:  Sunday, January 19, 2014
Director:  Musical - Pavel Sorokin; Choreography - George Bal
Cast:  Ivan Alexeyev / Evgenia Obraztsova

Event Details:  LIVE Sunday, January 19, 2014 @ 10:00AM ET / 9:00AM CT / 8:00AM MT / 7:00AM PT

Encore Tuesday, January 21, 2014 @ 7:00PM Local Time

Seats Just $15.00

The Bolshoi Theatre and Pathé Live are pleased to present Jewels, George Balanchine’s most famous ballet in cinemas for the very first time.

Inspired by the famous jewellers’ window displays on New York’s Fifth Avenue, Jewels is a tribute to women and to the dance schools of Paris, New York and St Petersburg.

Choreographed by Balanchine in New York in 1967, this ballet with precious stones and jewel-like costumes is composed of three parts (Emeralds, Rubies and Diamonds) and celebrates the cities and dance schools that forged Balanchine’s style.

“Each section of the ballet is distinct in both music and mood. EMERALDS, which Balanchine considered “an evocation of France — the France of elegance, comfort, dress, perfume,” recalls the 19th century dances of the French Romantics. RUBIES is crisp and witty, epitomizing the collaboration of Stravinsky and Balanchine. DIAMONDS recalls the order and grandeur of Imperial Russia, where Balanchine was trained. Mary Clarke and Clement Crisp wrote: “If the entire imperial Russian inheritance of ballet were lost, DIAMONDS would still tell us of its essence.” THE GEORGE BALANCHINE TRUST
No Results Found
There were no theaters found showing the requested feature.